BRENDAN BAKER

| Author |

 

NOVELS

Stonborn Saga 1 Cover.jpg

THE STONE DOORS

Stoneborn Saga Book I

On a small farm in Iceland, in the waning days of the Viking Age, a pagan farmer attacks a Christian priest. With a single blow from his hammer, he shatters a delicate balance, setting in motion forces more powerful than he can comprehend. The resultant blood feud has grave implications for all Icelanders—and perhaps the very land itself.

For far from the farms and longhouses, deep in Iceland's barren, moon-like interior, dwells a mysterious and uncanny power: the huldufólk, the hidden people, masters of stone and dreams. As they too are drawn into the clash between the old ways and the new faith, they must lay the burden on Sinmara, a young fólkish girl, to try to save them all...

THE STONE DOORS is the first novel in the STONEBORN SAGA, a planned trilogy featuring rich characters, heart-pounding action, and inventive storytelling. Combining real history with fantastic possibility, THE STONE DOORS will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell (THE LAST KINGDOM), Edward Rutherfurd (SARUM), and Susanna Clarke (JONATHAN STRANGE & MR. NORRELL).

Reader reviews for THE STONE DOORS:

“A great book that takes a somewhat familiar universe of quasi medieval literature and adapts it to an Icelandic setting that at once defies expectations while maintaining an air of familiarity.”

 “Author brings us elegantly into the world of Iceland to give us a feel--through his research and imagination--for this culture from hundreds of years ago.”

“Great read and very interesting, I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for the next one.”

“In my top three favorite books of all time.”

THE BLACK SHIPS

Stoneborn Saga Book II

 

On a bright summer morning in 1627, an unthinkable event shatters the peace of a small island village just off the coast of Iceland.

Appearing suddenly in swift black ships, a band of Barbary pirates invades the island, kills dozens of villagers, and kidnaps the rest to sell into slavery. Huddled below deck, terrified, and headed towards a life of bondage in foreign lands, the captive Icelanders can do little except pray and try to comfort one another.

But Ingrid and her brother Siggi have an unexpected resource, smuggled aboard in the folds of Ingrid's cloak: an old book, containing the long-forgotten tale of another young woman, herself taken captive centuries earlier by Ingrid's Viking forefathers, from a land far across the frozen ocean...

THE BLACK SHIPS is a self-contained historical adventure novel, continuing the epic narrative of the developing STONEBORN SAGA. Examining themes of cultural conflict, captivity, and survival within a detailed historical setting combining light fantasy elements, it is perfect for fans of Octavia E. Butler (KINDRED), Guy Gavriel Kay (THE LAST LIGHT OF THE SUN), and Scott O'Dell (THE ISLAND OF THE BLUE DOLPHINS). 

Coming 2020; Read a preview here!

 

THE GOLDEN ROAD

Stoneborn Saga Book III

 

Coming 2021

 

ABOUT

Brendan Baker grew up in Oak Park, IL and Brownsville, TX, then spent several years apiece in MN, MD, MI, and DC. He currently lives in Denver, CO, where he manages senior level communications and content development for legal organizations.

In his fiction, Baker  presents world history and myth in a compelling new light, drawing on his well-rounded academic background and his own experiences at home and abroad as a mixed race, Black, LGBT American.

EDUCATION/CREDENTIALS:

BA History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies Minor, Carleton College

Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship, funding for independent historical research

Year Abroad, Wadham College, Oxford University

English Language Teaching Certification, Prague, Czech Republic

Icelandic Immersion Courses, University of Minnesota & University of Iceland

JD, University of Michigan Law School

 
 

LET’S CONNECT

 

©2019 by Brendan Baker. Proudly created with Wix.com